• Indexing List

IP International Journal of Medical Microbiology and Tropical Diseases

Changing Trends of MRSA Isolation in Tertiary Care Hospital

Full Text PDF Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Author Details: Mangala Suresh Harbade, Anil A. Gaikwad, Jyoti A. Iravane, J.B. Bhakare, A.S. Damle

Volume : 3

Issue : 3

Online ISSN : 2581-4761

Print ISSN : 2581-4753

Article First Page : 113

Article End Page : 115


Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA) is an important cause of nosocomial infections worldwide. The aim of study is early detection of MRSA and antibiotic sensitivity pattern. Early detection of MRSA is necessary to implement effective control measures and control their spread in Hospital.
Materials and Method: The bacterial isolates from various clinical specimens of patients admitted in our hospital were cultured as per standard protocol and all isolates of Staphylococcus aureus obtained were included in the study. The antimicrobial susceptibility testing was performed by Kirby–Bauer disc diffusion method. The isolates were tested for methicillin resistance by using cefoxitin by disc diffusion method Interpretation of result was done using CLSI 2016 guidelines.
Results: During a period of one year, a total of 464 isolates of S. aureus were studied and 186 (40%) were found to be methicillin-resistant. The maximum isolation of MRSA was from pus samples 77 (41%). MRSA isolates showed greater resistance to multiple drugs. 72% of MRSA isolates were resistant to Amoxclav, 61% to Clindamycin, 60% of Penicillin and Co-trimoxazole, 54% to Erythromycin and 41% to Gentamycin. However, all strains were sensitive to Vancomycin.
Conclusion: The regular surveillance of MRSA may be helpful in formulating and monitoring the antibiotic policy. Monitoring the epidemiology and the burden of MRSA infections is crucial to control of MRSA and its spread of infection. This may also help in preserving antibiotics like Vancomycin, only for life-threatening Staphylococcal diseases.

Methicillin resistance Staphylococcus aureus (MRSA), Methicillin sensitive Staphylococcus aureus (MSSA)