COVID-19 Update - This is to inform you that the Government of India has announced a complete lockdown in India 22nd March 2020 to 14th April 2020. As a result, our offices will now be closed till 14th April 2020 and all our employees will be working from home. Office telephones will not be answered, and therefore you are requested to direct all your queries related to manuscript submission, review process, publication etc. at below mentioned details.,, Mob. 8826373757, 8826859373, 9910947804

Article view: 15

Article download: 11

Indian Journal of Clinical and Experimental Ophthalmology

A study to compare outcome of anterior flap suturing versus double flap anastamosis in external dacryocystorhinostomy

Full Text PDF Share on Facebook Share on Twitter

Research Article

Author Details : Vasudha Damle*, Prakash Chand Agarwal

Volume : 6, Issue : 1, Year : 2020

Article Page : 80-83

Suggest article by email


Aim: To compare the results of anterior flap suturing with excision of posterior flaps and both anterior &
posterior flaps suturing in external DCR
Materials and Methods:Total 46 patients were divided into 2 groups, 23 in each. In Group A cases with
anterior flap anastamosis were included and in group B cases with double flap suturing were included.
Comparison was done in terms of ease of procedure, total surgical time, recurrence and success rate. Mean
surgical time was evaluated in both the groups.
Results: Mean age in years was 53.56 7.19. Suturing the flaps was found convenient and easy in Group
A (91.30%) in comparison to group B (13.04%). Total mean surgical time was 55.09 3.96 minutes. In
Group A it was 51.43 0.99 minutes and in group B it was 58.74 1.78 minutes. In Group A mean
surgical time was less in comparison to group B and it was statistically highly significant. Success rate
assessed by patent syringing, was 91.30% in Group A and 95.65% in Group B.
Conclusion: Only anterior flap suturing with trimming of posterior flaps in comparison to double flap
anastamosis makes external DCR an easy and less time consuming procedure.

Keywords: Anterior flap suturing, Chronic Dacryocystitis, DCR, Double flap anastamosis, Recurrence.

Doi : 10.18231/j.ijceo.2020.018

How to cite : Damle V, Agarwal P C, A study to compare outcome of anterior flap suturing versus double flap anastamosis in external dacryocystorhinostomy. Indian J Clin Exp Ophthalmol 2020;6(1):80-83

Copyright © 2020 by author(s) and Indian J Clin Exp Ophthalmol. This is an Open Access article distributed under the terms of the Creative Commons Attribution License (CC BY 4.0) (